So What’s It Gonna Be

Today I was torn.  I was wrestling with myself on whether or not to waste my time.

I was struggling on whether or not an apostate church is even worth the time of a small time (and even that’s being generous) blogger with too much time on his hands.

Then my heart began to break.  I believe God gave me a glimpse of why He wept over Jerusalem.  This story broke my heart.

The Associated Press: Clergy finds US pastor guilty of marrying gays

At first I was infuriated.  I thought to myself, “Wesley must be rolling over in his grave.”

The Wesley brothers have been dead just a little over 200 years and the great revivals of their day have been degenerated into this.

I didn’t get it.  How does this happen?  How can a body fall so far?

Then God whispered in my ear. It was a single phase He has given me many times.  Something that makes me shrink with shame every time.  I don’t want to do what He tells me to.  I can’t take it, not again.

“Look in the mirror,” He says.

God is not blaming me for the sins of someone else, He is not holding me responsible for the fall of an entire denomination, but He is telling me to take inventory of my own witness.

What am I doing to show this fallen world the Light of life?  Am I hiding my candle under a bushel?

I am ashamed to say that I do more than I care to admit.

Every time God and I have this conversation, it goes pretty much the same way.  I think to myself, “I can’t do this. I can’t get it together.”

Every time God interrupts my thoughts with the same response, “Your right.  You can’t do it. Not on your own.  You can’t keep it together.  Not the way I want you to. That’s why I made a way. “

It is this way that we must proclaim and live in this fallen world.  We must proclaim the Gospel truth to people.  We must confront them with their sin and show them the way to salvation. We cannot comfort them on their way to hell.

We may not be able to save a denomination from following the world and lusting to tickle the ears of a congregation, but maybe we could.

Until we get off our hands and start opening our mouths, our co-workers may still be headed to hell.  The kids who cut our lawns may never know the love of Christ we keep to
ourselves.  Our parents may not get know saving grace.

It’s awful hard to play in the game till you get off the bench.

I leave you with the same question God leaves me with, “So what’s it gonna be?”

About fanningtheflamesagain

Too many times in life we don't speak up. We don't want to rock the boat. We keep quiet because we think we are in the minority. I never seemed to have this issue. I generally wish I would have kept my mouth shut, but I just can't. Thanks though for stopping by and taking a moment to see my side of the story. May it not be far from what God would have me to say.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

