Moral or Good?

I am not sure if many of you have been following this story or not, but recently a man was ordered to take down a billboard that condemns his ex-girlfriend for getting an abortion.

You can read more about it here.

http://www.foxnews.com/us/2011/06/23/judge-tells-boyfriend-to-remove-abortion-billboard/

When I first heard about the story I applauded the man’s fortitude for standing against abortion, but something hit me today.

It’s one of those times when I realize that this world is so twisted that we fail to see the root cause of our problems. The lines of right and wrong have been so blurred that we have to be very careful about what we call “good”.

It reminds me of Luke 18.  Who is good?  There is only One who is good, God.

This man may be the one the pro-life movement is rallying around, but one big detail is being overlooked.  If this had not been living in sin and sleeping with his girlfriend, then this would not have happened.

It wasn’t his wife or even his fiancé.  It was a girlfriend.

While I am in no way trying to downplay the horrors of abortion, I am saying that people need to wake up and realize that sin will only lead to more sin.

I don’t know this man at all, but from a Christian perspective, it is kinda hard to live in sin and then want to turn around and claim the moral high ground.

Without God we are all doomed to perpetuate a sinful life no matter how much we may want to slap a moral veneer on it.

DO NOT COMMIT ADULTERY, DO NOT MURDER, DO NOT STEAL, DO NOT BEAR FALSE WITNESS, HONOR YOUR FATHER AND MOTHER.

Sounds great.  Those are all things we are commanded to do, and even the world can do those.

Yet, when it comes to the root of our problems, the heart, the world is found wanting.  When God says, “You will give this up for me.”  They fold and walk away.

DO NOT COMMIT AN ABORTION.

The world will yell, “Amen,” but when it comes to not sleeping with your girlfriend.  Well, that’s just too much.

About fanningtheflamesagain

Too many times in life we don't speak up. We don't want to rock the boat. We keep quiet because we think we are in the minority. I never seemed to have this issue. I generally wish I would have kept my mouth shut, but I just can't. Thanks though for stopping by and taking a moment to see my side of the story. May it not be far from what God would have me to say.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

