Jonah (Part 2)

So Jonah has told God that he refuses to go to Nineveh.  Jonah heads down to the docks to find a ship that is destine for Tarshish.  I have heard before that at this time, Tarshish was the farthest point in the known world from where Jonah was.  I don’t know if that is true or not, but to me the most outstanding point to be made is that Jonah was setting out for that was free from the Lord’s presence.

I don’t believe for a second that Jonah thought he could run and find a place where the Lord would not be, but he probably wanted to find a place where he could hide God.

Jonah wanted to find a place where no one knew who he was, somewhere where he could flee from his reputation as a prophet.  I am sure Jonah and I are the only men in history who have looked for a place where people did not know we where Christians so that we could suppress God in our lives and let sin take hold.  I don’t mean that I try to find the
hole-in-the-wall bar across town where nobody will recognize me, but the times I don’t pray over my food in public because people might stare.  Then there are the times that I’m at work and want people to think I’m part of their crowd so I talk bad about people behind
their back.  Or the time…

Now that we have established what a horrible person Jonah and I are, let’s continue.

Jonah has such a hatred for the people of Nineveh that he would rather quit the business and quit God than preach a message of repentance.  Jonah knew what he was doing and he was leaving town to get it done.

Luckily God didn’t let Jonah get away with it and neither will He let me get away with it.  Dare I go out on a limb and say He won’t let you get away with it either?

Time is up again. Thanks for reading.

About fanningtheflamesagain

Too many times in life we don't speak up. We don't want to rock the boat. We keep quiet because we think we are in the minority. I never seemed to have this issue. I generally wish I would have kept my mouth shut, but I just can't. Thanks though for stopping by and taking a moment to see my side of the story. May it not be far from what God would have me to say.
This entry was posted in Jonah and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

