A Return to the Basics

1 Corinthians 15:3-4 For I passed on to you as of first importance what I also received – that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures, and that he was buried, and that he was raised on the third day according to the scriptures,

We can all make mistakes.  I set out to be provocative in this blog and spur people onto truly consider what they believed. But I may have been a little over zealous and forgotten that those who read these posts are not always up on the discussions that have spurred my posts. 

I had a very wise man pull me aside and point out that while he agreed with the points I have been making, there are better ways to go about building up the body of Christ.  He was right.  He didn’t want me to loose my enthusiasm, but in a world with so many false teachings people can quickly shy away from anything that smells wrong.  I have to say that I do the same thing and I am quick to make snap judgments myself.    I applaud my brothers and sisters who hold onto what is good and true and reject the rest. 

In my prayers and searching for a topic to write about next, God showed me something.  Nothing has ever been more controversial and edgy than His truth.  Nothing sets this world on its ear more than God’s truth. 

The books and messages that I enjoy the most in my own life are those teachers and preachers who boldly proclaim only what the Bible says.  They don’t generally get into theological discussions about the nuances of Scripture that lead to never ending round robins of interpretations.

Those preachers of old that people labeled as the “Hellfire and Brimstone” kind, did nothing more than tell you what the Scriptures said.  The only ones that come out one of those messages being offended are those who are under conviction.  I am glad they are offended by the Truth.  That means that their hearts are still sensitive to hearing God’s word.  Those who should be convicted but are not, I fear for the most.  I once heard that “what you are not offended by tells more about you than what does offend you.” 

If you want to see how far we have fallen from God, just turn your TV on and watch what your not offended by.  I would go so far as to say that if we Christians were honestly offended by everything ungodly on TV we wouldn’t own one. 

We (and most of all I) need a return to our first love.  We (I) need to return to the fundamentals. 

So I am starting a series I want to title “GOD IS…” 

Step by step we will take a look at who God is.  Not who we think HE is, but what His word says He is. 

Let the journey begin.

About fanningtheflamesagain

Too many times in life we don't speak up. We don't want to rock the boat. We keep quiet because we think we are in the minority. I never seemed to have this issue. I generally wish I would have kept my mouth shut, but I just can't. Thanks though for stopping by and taking a moment to see my side of the story. May it not be far from what God would have me to say.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Return to the Basics

  1. Paul Song says:

    One of the things I love about Pilgrim’s Progress is that when Christian loses his way and wanders off the road, he’s led back to the original path where he veered off. So it seems, that when we lose sight, we’re told to “Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls.”

Leave a Reply

