Does the Big 12 hold a grudge?

Do I really want to go down this road?

OF COURSE I DO!!!

You will have to forgive me for this one.  It is no small secret that I am a die hard Husker fan, and what happened to Ben Cotton on Saturday is going to test the Big 12’s ability to remain a real conference or continue to be the laughing stock everyone knows it is. 

I want to say that I am not blaming the officials for missing what happened to Ben, or saying that they cost Nebraska the game.  Nebraska’s didn’t play well enough to win.  Blaming the refs for then entire loss of a game is bad form.  Even when penalties are at a 16-2 ratio.  

The question of equal treatment is coming to a head.  In all truthfulness, I don’t really have anything against the Big Texas Conference as a whole.  I have major heartburn with its commissioner Dan Beebe.  I believe his actions this year in the governance of the conference have sealed his fate and he is on his way out. 

To express my feelings I would like you to read the email I sent him.

Mr. Beebe:

I am sure you are a busy man reading your email, so I will make it quick.  Are you going to suspend the Texas A&M player (#83 Jerod-Eddie) for his actions against Nebraska’s Ben Cotton?

Eric Martin was suspended for his hit during the Oklahoma State game, and this was the reasoning of the Big 12 officials.

“Big 12 officials reviewed the game tape and issued a suspension in accordance with NCAA Football Rule 9-6-3, which states, ‘if subsequent review of a game by a conference reveals plays involving flagrant personal fouls that game officials did not call, the conference may impose sanctions prior to the next scheduled game.’”

I am not an official, but I would like to believe that continually grabbing the inside of a player’s groin would qualify as a “flagrant personal foul.”

I greatly anticipate your decision.

Thank you for your time.

Respectfully

Matthew Fanning

Oh I also cc’d the NCAA, Jim Rome, Mike and Mike, Collin Cowherd, and Scott VanPelt.  I doubt we hear anything, but feel free to copy the email and send it again.

About fanningtheflamesagain

Too many times in life we don't speak up. We don't want to rock the boat. We keep quiet because we think we are in the minority. I never seemed to have this issue. I generally wish I would have kept my mouth shut, but I just can't. Thanks though for stopping by and taking a moment to see my side of the story. May it not be far from what God would have me to say.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Does the Big 12 hold a grudge?

  1. Sam Randles says:

    That video was hard to watch. Good work on the e-mail though 😛

    -Sam

  2. Terry and Tammy Rice says:

    Wow! Thanks, Matt for sharing that and for the e-mails you sent. Watching that video made me kick a little, too. Terry and Tammy (Angela Squires Parents and die hard Husker fans, also!)

Leave a Reply

