Being a Christian Does Not Guarantee a Good Life

I’m not sure why it rubs me so raw when I hear a preacher give a sermon that is based on the premise that God wants you to have a good day.  They say all you have to do is start off with some Scripture reading, spend some time in prayer, and your day will go great. 

If you’re a night owl like I am, you might as well give up on ever having a good day.  I tend to wake up in just enough time to get ready for work and head out the door.  This is why I tend toward living a life of prayer, because I don’t really remember the last time I got up with enough time to stop for prayer. 

If you are the type that sets their alarm early so you can devote that time to God, I applaud you.  You have a devotion I envy.  I have no doubt that you probably have a greater amount of better days than I do, but I would submit that it has nothing to do with your actual time spent in morning prayers.

It has everything to do with your outlook on life.  If you’re the type that sets aside time to spend with God, then you have a set of priorities that is vastly different than the rest of the world.  A true Christian can have a terrible day, but if they believe and realize that they are in the will of God, then they can cast their cares on personal God who cares for them.

These type of people do not use God as a means to an end.  They understand that God is not someone to be manipulated.  He is not going to make you rich because you sent $100 into some crackpot you saw on TBN.  You are not going to have a better life, because you bought “The Prayer of Jabez.”  Trust me, the only ones who got rich from that were the ones who published the book.  Luckily for them there is a sucker born every minute.  Sadly it seems to me that there are proportionally more suckers who sit church pews than there are on the streets.

Don’t think that I’m just going for shock value here.  Have you ever seen the masses amount of people who go to Joel Osteen’s church.  I don’t doubt these people’s sincerity, but if you are not able to tell that man is a Biblical moron, then I have a hard time feeling sorry for you.  I once heard him say the only reason Israel spent so much time wandering around the wilderness is because they “didn’t have a positive enough outlook on life.”

I don’t care how positive your outlook is, you are not in charge of what goes on around you.  You are going to have bad days and bad things are going to happen to you.  God may be even showing Satan how faithful you are by taking all your possessions and killing off all your children.  Think I’m exaggerating?  Read the first few books of Job.  Talk about a bad day.  Best of all, your probably a dirt bag like I am when compared to Job.  So who deserves the bad day more?

Christians, I want you to remember something.  God will care for you like he cares for the sparrows in the sky.  He will ensure you are clothed like the lilies of the field.  But remember that sometimes, sparrows get eaten and lilies get mowed.  Our hope is not in this world.  True Christians do not strive for riches in this world.  We do not try and force God into doing something for us because we did something for him.  This is not a barter system.

God already paid more than you could ever earn in a thousand lifetimes.  He already built us a mansion greater than any house you could ever conceive of.  When this world cuts us down, chews us up, and spits us out, take heart.  When your jobless, penniless, friendless, and have no where to look than up, know this.  The real riches God gives us are spotless clothes of glory, a crown of righteousness, and we will walk on streets of gold. 

So go ahead world, bring on the bad days.

About fanningtheflamesagain

Too many times in life we don't speak up. We don't want to rock the boat. We keep quiet because we think we are in the minority. I never seemed to have this issue. I generally wish I would have kept my mouth shut, but I just can't. Thanks though for stopping by and taking a moment to see my side of the story. May it not be far from what God would have me to say.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Being a Christian Does Not Guarantee a Good Life

  1. billrandles says:

    I couldn’t have put it better myself son, God bless you -Pas bill randles ps we are all proud of you-

  2. Travis says:

    Great word Matt, good to see your wisdom being shared in the blogging world!

    Blessings,
    Travis

  3. Jeremy Strasser says:

    Many good points, my friend. I also don’t get up super early every morning, allowing time for scripture reading and prayer. Realizing that I get lazy if I don’t get things done early in the day, I do try to spend that time in the morning before I do anything else. It does make me feel better, at least for a while, because I have reoriented my focus on Christ and given my worries to Him.

    Of course, giving it all to God still doesn’t mean everything is going to be cookies and cream in a bowl with caramel on top. He will certainly take care of me. Sometimes that means learning must happen. Sometimes learning doesn’t feel so good. It’s kind of like when kids test the electric fence. “Dad said not to touch it beause it will hurt. I just want to make sure he’s not trying to keep me from having fun. Ouch!!” Learning hurt that time. Sometimes we learn the things God has already taught us by doing our own thing. That learning can cause a bad day or a good day, depending on how you look at it.

    As for the not being in charge of what goes on around me. The day my friend Wyatt left and didn’t return was a bad day. I dare say that few things have hurt my heart that bad. But we wouldn’t have lost him if we didn’t know him. I feel blessed to have known him, even though it was for a short time. Instead of focussing on my loss (bad), I choose to focus on how knowing Wyatt made me a better man (good).

    Yeah, there will be bad days. Bad days may even turn into weeks, months, or years. The question is “how will I respond to the bad day?” When I’m having a bad time, I try to remember what is said in Philippians 4:11-13 (NIV)
    11″I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.”

    When I’m turning into “Negative Nancy” because I’m having bad times, I need to be reminded:
    16″Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NIV)

    My only issue with your blog is the term “true Christian”. I’ve never been too crazy about that term. To me you are either a Christian or you are non Christian. To say “true Christian” implies that one could be more Christian than another. In your blog you stated that a “true Christian” can have a terrible day. If I rejoice over a day you would consider to be terrible, chosing to view it as a tough day that will hopefully make me stronger, does that make me less than a “true Christian”?

  4. billrandles says:

    As a wise (and cute) woman once said,” serving Jesus may be bumpy, but its funner than Hell!”

Leave a Reply

