Name of the Game

I would like to first give the inspiration for the name of this blog.  My Granddad, Richard, owned the newspaper in my small home town.  He wrote a short weekly column called “Fanning the Breeze” for the front page.  A couple of years ago, I was able to read many of these articles in a scrapbook that was put together.

These articles were fairly general in nature, but they dripped with the humor I always remember from my Granddad.  He has a great sense of humor, but if you didn’t know him, you would probably think he was one of the meanest people you had ever met.  I’m not quite sure if that is a fair representation of him, but that is how I always think of him.

I think I may have inherited his ability to take a true story and maybe embellish on it a little bit.  As I read his columns, I could picture his stories coming from a simple one liner he had picked up around town.  While his stories where always believable, I got the feeling that they may not have always happened exactly the way he portrayed them.  We call that creative license.  I guess it’s a way for writers, or would be writers, to lie their butts off, but say it was all for a good cause.  The entertainment of the reader is always the end goal, so the ends justify the means.

He did not always write for humor.  From time to time, I would see an article about a local politician or something of a more serious manner.  While I only hope to ever gain the grace and style he can write with, my attempts will be toward the same end, the entertainment of the reader.

The writings of my patriarch were as free flowing and soothing as the gentle “breeze” that he fanned.  I know that I do not have the skill nor the patience to be as easy on the reader’s eyes as he did.  While I did want to pay my respects, I did not want anyone to think my writings were going to be as painless.  I do have my own style and it tends to be a little more fiery.

Fiery in two respects.  While my elder, was by no means, any less passionate about his work, I aim to be a little more agitating.  Stirring that fire inside you to think about the world around you in a different manner.  Also, I pray my writings will be full of the flame of the Holy Spirit.

One of the best radio hosts I know says his aim is to, “fear God, tell the truth, and make money.”  Since I am not going to make any money at this, and I already admitted to not always telling the truth. I guess that leaves only one thing left to do.

Above all things I fear God.  In any article I write, I want to portray a Spirit-led worldview.  These articles may be political, theological, ranting, or any host of styles, but may I always be fearful of God.

Maybe one of the first ones will be about the Jesus I worship.  Trust me, the Jesus of the Bible is far from the Buddy Christ you have glued to the dash of your car.  He is even far from the Jesus preached in many churches.

But enough for now.  Thank you all for reading and here we go.  May Granddad forgive me for ruining his reputation.

MF

About fanningtheflamesagain

Too many times in life we don't speak up. We don't want to rock the boat. We keep quiet because we think we are in the minority. I never seemed to have this issue. I generally wish I would have kept my mouth shut, but I just can't. Thanks though for stopping by and taking a moment to see my side of the story. May it not be far from what God would have me to say.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Name of the Game

  1. Angela says:

    I’ll be following!

    Blessings,
    Angela

Leave a Reply

